Research on ecomuseology to place Polish ecomuseums into an international perspective

Today’s post is by Dorota Kawęcka, who is visiting ICCHS.

Image

Dorota Kawęcka – on a boat trip during the ‘Ecomuseums 2012: 1st International Conference on Ecomuseums, Community Museums and Living Communities’ held in Seixal, Portugal in September 2012

I’m a researcher based at Jagiellonian University (Krakow, Poland) and for the next ten days I’ll be at ICCHS to conduct my research on ecomuseums, under the supervision of Peter Davis and Gerard Corsane who are known internationally in the network of academics and practitioners interested in ecomuseology. My background is in Performance Studies and I’m currently finishing my MA in Museology at the Reinwardt Academy in Amsterdam. In 2012 I was awarded a “Diamond Grant” from the Ministry of Science and Higher Education in Poland to carry out this research project on the development of Polish ecomuseums. This type of heritage work still remains fairly unknown in my country and it will be the first study ever done on the subject.

I’m also interested in how new technologies can help heritage institutions to become more participatory and I actively campaign for open access to knowledge.

Together with my colleague Aleksandra Janus I write a blog to promote new ideas in museology (in Polish only). You can find me on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

